Don’t tell me who to hire.


The Equality Act has come in to force across Britain aimed at banning discrimination by employers,  covering areas such as age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion and belief, gender and sexual orientation.

I look at life through spectacles that tend to be tinted just a shade too rose.  Often my sky is blue, my glass is half – full.   I see the very best in people.  Why should we even need an equality act?  I mean, I get it, I understand why people need protection, I just think that it is an incredibly sad indictment on us human beings that too often we judge the book by its cover.

We make assumptions, we stereotype, we pigeon-hole, put people in to boxes and label them.  I think it sucks.  I don’t want to be told who I can hire and who I can’t.  I don’t want to be told who I can work with and who I can’t.  I don’t want quotas.  I don’t want to tick boxes.  I want to be free to pick the very best person I can within my budget regardless of gender, race, religion, sexual orientation.

I don’t care if you are black or white, muslim or christian, male or female.  I want to know can we get along.  I want to know that we can work together.  I want to know that we can disagree professionally, that we can challenge each other professionally without fear of repercussions, that we can engage in lively debate like grown ups, that we can share the challenges, celebrate the successes together, share the pain when its tough.  I want to know that you are willing to be accountable, that you are responsible, that you are willing to engage and to learn.  I want to know you are keen, determined, respectful, honest.  None of these qualities have the slightest thing to do with your race, sexual orientation, gender, religious beliefs.   I don’t need to be told who to hire.  I know what I want.  Its simple. I want the best I can get.

2 Comments

Filed under Recruitment

2 responses to “Don’t tell me who to hire.

  1. Hi Lee,
    Really like your comments, working together is not about e-ism it’s just about quality. Attitude is changed through behaviour, so if individuals continue to challenge discrimination, the bullies will give up or get fired [if they’re on The Apprentice].

    • Hi Sophie

      Thank you for your comments, I really appreciate your contribution. Treat people like grown ups, expect them to behave like grown ups. I respect legislation, its necessary to prevent people being exploited. I think its just a shame that we have to have it and certainly we have had too much of it in business these last 15 years. Too much of it gets in the way and whilst introduced with the very best of intentions, actually impacts most on those who should have benefited from it. Still thats a subject for another day, certainly too much for a comments section!
      Lee

Leave a Reply

