The Ying and the Yang


I am repeating myself. I don’t want to be told who to hire. I am interested in your talent, your aspirations, your ambitions, what motivates, what inspires, what drives you, what you’ve learned, what you want to learn. Your gender has no bearing on my hiring decision.

Nor frankly does your sexuality, religious beliefs, favourite colour, shoe size or football team (well perhaps not entirely true!). I want the very best I can possibly afford for my company. That to me is just simple common sense. Many it would appear do not share my view. Frankly life would be dull if they did.

However the world is changing. Management speak is full of terms such as engagement, retention and diversity. Is this just lip service, or are people really embracing genuine workplace diversity and seeing the value that a range of views, talent, experiences, cultures and perspectives can bring to the workplace?

Long term vision and compelling purpose are topics for discussion as companies gear up post apocalypse for the promise of brighter days ahead. At the same time testosterone would appear to be on the wane in the Boardroom. Statistically this is certainly not the case as yet, but the rallying cry for more women in the boardroom was heard again this week from the CBI and the IoD in the UK.

This video from the always excellent TedTalks, evidences just how women are out performing men in so many areas of society today. I for one am delighted. The wider and deeper the talent pool, the easier my job.

If you want to attract the very best, if you truly want to succeed, then open your mind. A successful business today needs to combine the very best that Mars and Venus has to offer. It should not be about Men OR Women, it should be about Men AND Women.

Leave a comment

Filed under Hiring

Leave a Reply

