Video – the future of your job search?


Video Resumes are featuring more and more heavily in web chatter.  I have yet to have an Executive approach me with a video resume, I have yet to have a client ask for one.  Nobody has asked me for advice on how best to put one together.  I still receive regular calls from job seekers on how best to put the traditional 2 page curriculum vitae together.

Trust me they are coming.  I first blogged about this subject in September last year when I came across what I considered to be a quite brilliant video CV from Graeme Anthony.

https://transcendexecutivesearch.wordpress.com/2010/09/29/the-best-job-application-ever/

Compare Graeme’s to a video resume I spotted on YouTube recently (below).  I am clear what Graeme brings to the party.  I am clear as to his strengths, his talents, his experience and his skills.  I am clear what he has achieved and what he wants to achieve in the future.  I am clear because he is clear.

The video below is a different story.  Clever, interesting, but I am left feeling uncertain as to what I have just seen.

Other than being a workaholic who likes coffee and possesses skills such as the ability to send an email from his pda whilst in a car park, I am uncertain what he brings to my business.  I am not intrigued, I am irritated.  Sure it is well produced, but its ambiguous.  When you are looking for a job, content is as crucial as presentation.

What can you do, what have you done?  What do you want, how can I help you, how can you help me?  It answers none of these questions that might just set this guy apart from those others he is competing with at interview.  It is short, its concise, but it gives me little to consider.

Success in the jobs market is all about setting yourself apart from those with whom you are competing.  The competition is fierce.  Jaguar Landrover has this week announced that it has had more than 14000 applications to 1500 new posts.

The CV is only ever a catalyst to a conversation.  Your CV, video or otherwise, will not get you a job, that’s down to you, but it will get you a conversation.  I am busy, you are busy.  Less is more.  Cut to the chase.  Tell me who you are, what you’ve done, what you have achieved, how that has added value to your employer and why therefore that could be of interest and value to me.  Get it on tape and lets talk.

What do think as to the future of the CV?  Would you consider a video?  Let me have your comments, I would love to know your view.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Video Resumes, posted with vodpod
6 Comments

Filed under Recruitment, Social Media

6 responses to “Video – the future of your job search?

  1. Hi Lee,
    (You may need to check the link for Greame’s video CV)
    I like the prospect of video CVs and think though in their infancy they’re one for the near future. http://www.ovia.me offer an interesting product which is well illustrated on their “Video interviewing explained” video accessible from their homepage.

  2. Hi David

    Thanks for your comments, as always I appreciate your contribution. Thank you also for the heads up on the link, I believe it is now repaired. Not for the first time attributable to Blogger Error!

    Thanks also for the link to http://www.ovia.me, I will have a look at that, it could be very useful in relation to something that I am working on at the moment. Thanks again, have a great day.

  3. Whilst a few people make them there will be the novelty value attached you viewing a video CV but once people are encouraged to make them as an upgrade from the paper CV my question would be ‘how on earth is any recruiter/employer going to find the time to sit and watch all the footage in order to make a reasoned judgment? Currently, with the paper CV, one can do a quick sift based on essential basic criteria such as skill sets, qualifications and experience. It takes seconds to do that. With video however, you could be sitting there for a couple of minutes before you get to the happy or unhappy ending. In short, video CVs are new and different now and may make some individuals stand out, but if they ever become the norm the application situation could become unmanageable, unless you only used video as a second stage, shortlist part of the process. Meanwhile however, thousands of bits of footage will be uploaded onto youtube by desperate candidates using any means they can to try and find work, only to be judged by others in isolation for their shyness, facial tick, hairstyle, fashion sense etc. etc. In short, in a world where first impressions count, video CVs are very subjective aren’t they? At least with the traditional CV you get to see that on paper the person can do the job before you judge them for their appearance or personality.

  4. PS – That guy should get himself to workaholics anonymous. (see what I’ve done there? Judged him in the first few seconds)

  5. Im a web video producer who is currently working with 3 local recruitment companies on video production.

    Done badly, I agree with the above comment, Video could leave people frustrated and bemused.

    My approach is simple, dont video the Candidates, video the company’s looking to fill roles instead.

    Also, if your putting video on the web, think how YOU view video over the web, short, simple and straight to the point…

    Im very chuffed to say that my approach above managed to get MY videos onto Tesco’s very own Careers website – http://www.tesco-careers.com/foodsourcing

  6. Pingback: Video CV – should you cut it on film? « Career Sparkle

Leave a Reply

